Editor’s Choice: Zombies throughout history!

Anyone who knows me, knows of my deep seated obsession with zombies.  I’ve taken every zombie survival quiz on Facebook, sat happily through countless Romero marathon’s and keep my headshot skills honed with an occasional late night nerd binge of Left 4 Dead.  Any chance I get to combine archaeology with zombies is a rare blessing.  So while wandering the aisle of my local bookstore, I was introduced to this little wish come true:

The Zombie Survival Guide: Recorded Events

Holy Anglo-Saxon buried gold, Batman!  Max Brooks, author of the epic novel World War Z and The Zombie Survival Guide has just released a new book entitled The Zombie Survival Guide: Recorded Attacks.  This beautifully illustrated graphic novel chronicles major zombie attacks from the dawn of humanity; on the African savannas, against the legions of ancient Rome, on the high seas with Francis Drake, and right on up to the present day.  Brooks cleverly pits historical peoples against the flesh munching plague of the undead in some truely remarkable ways.  The book opens with a story from Central Africa circa 60,000 B.C.:

60,000 B.C., Katanda, Central Africa

I don’t want to spoil too much, but I will say I have a new theory on the origins of the handaxe.

While the stories are brief, the artwork is exceptional and even those less familiar with the graphic novel format can slip easily into this read.  So with Halloween fast approaching, I have no choice but to highly recommend this unique book that re-imagines some of history’s most fascinating time periods by throwing the walking dead into the mix.

You can pick this up at your local Barnes and Nobles or Border’s bookstore, but I highly recommend snatching it off Amazon and saving a few dollars on the price.

Leave a Reply

